relentlessheart

taking things day by day

Handsome Daddy. June 16, 2012

Filed under: Family — Courtney @ 2:45 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Any man can be a father. It takes a special man to be a dad.”
— Author Unknown 

 

Father’s Day is tomorrow so it was only fitting to write a special post for my awesome Dad. First, let me explain why this post is called “Handsome Daddy.” My old phone would announce who is calling by saying, “Call from BLANK.” When I told Dad about this, he replied, “So when I call does it say, ‘Call from Handsome Daddy’?” I assured him it did and since then he is always Handsome Daddy in my phone. In fact, now he is my only contact with a nickname. So, as you can see my dad is the jokester, and he always has me laughing.

Thanks for showing me the beauty of muscle cars, too!

Dad, thank you so much for all that you have done for me. You’re always so strong in every situation, which helps me to be strong, too. You always put a smile on my face by something silly you’ve done or something you’ve said. I love our “I love you more so I win” wars. I like that you text me Jessie’s messages to me, because how else would I know that she said “arff arff” which means “I love you” (It’s a good thing you can translate for her too!). I also love our “your face thing.” Chris and I both really enjoy our game nights/movie nights. I know that you always have us cracking up. I’m especially thankful for not only my relationship with you, but yours with Chris as well. He really loves you and you mean a lot to him; more than you know I’m sure. I’m grateful for knowing that I can come to you with anything, and you’ll help me out. Thanks for helping me to appreciate The Beatles and Johnny Cash. I am thankful for your bravery in killing bugs around the house. Thanks for all your fun stories from your childhood. Thanks for letting me go crazy at the grocery store and get whatever is looking good at the time. Thanks for getting me so into the comic book movies; I always look forward to our Daddy-Daughter dates when a new one is coming out. Most of all, I am thankful that you are my dad. Bubby and I are super lucky to call you our dad. I know I’d be missing out on a lot of hugs and giggles if you weren’t my dad. Thanks for all that you do for me, and thank you for all the things I know you’ll do for me in the future. I love you Dad (more, so I win!)

Thanks for always being silly!

When you’re having a rough day, just look back on this and realize how much I love you! You’re the best Daddy in the whole entire world, and I couldn’t ask for anyone better. Happy Father’s Day!

 

Leave a Reply

